top of page
  • Writer's picturemuhdfitribahrin

THE REASONS WHY I STARTED DOING A PERSONAL WEBSITE/BLOG

Updated: Apr 5, 2019

Hey everyone, today I will reveal my reasons on why started to build my own website and blog. As you can see, my website is still not officially done. I still don't have my own domain (like fitribahrin.com) because, in order to have a domain, we need to pay for it. As a student, I still don't have enough money to afford it. So to spread my personal website, I need to share the link to other people. Hopefully one day I can have enough money to afford my own domain so that my website will be visible in the Google search engine.



Ok, now back to the main topic on why I started doing personal website/blog. People may think it is because of the money. But for me, money is not the main reason, and not even motivate me to start typing all these articles. What motivates me is I just wanted to an outstanding student, who has a personal website as a tool to show my works, experiences, projects, and achievements. People can say 'why don't you just put it on your resume or CV?'. For my resume and CV are really boring. You cannot express your feeling and opinion in the resume and CV just because for the sake of being professional. Besides, resume and CV have limited pages. With a personal website, I can express whatever I want (as long as it is useful and appropriate). Not only that, by creating my personal website, I can promote my works to any companies beyond my reach (especially companies from the overseas). This is because, once I have my own domain, people can find my website by just key in some keywords in the Google search engine. Compared to CV and resume, I just can give it to companies where are reachable especially in Johore and Selangor only.


Resume and CV can list down our experiences and achievements, but not our opinions and feelings.

The next reason is I really love writing. Coincidentally, my future plan is to continue to study into the master and Ph.D. level, where it requires me to produce some thesis or journal related to my finding in my studies. By doing articles for my blog, it will help me to train to be a good writer. I believe there is a lot of improvement I can make to make my article more interesting and informative. I can simply ask my friends on what is their opinions about my articles and I can also ask them to help me to check my grammar. Writing for my blog also helps to widen my vocabulary. If there is no word come out from my mind or I'm not sure the translation of certain words, I will google it or find it in a dictionary. It also makes me start reading a lot of books, which I can gains some new knowledge as well!



The third reason is I wanted to be one of the first bio-technologist from Malaysia to write articles regarding the latest news of the biotechnology industry, lab protocols, tips or lab hacks and my experiences. I plan to produce these articles when I start doing Master study, once I have enough experience in the lab. The reason why I want to produce these articles is that I found many of lab tutorial are came from the west country where they used the English language as the medium to communicate. So I decided to produce articles or videos on YouTube by mixing both Malay and English, in order for better understanding for students especially from Malaysia who are not fluent in English.


Biotechnology, one of the promising field in Malaysia

That's all the main reasons why I creating my personal website and blog. It's not about making money, but it's about my passion and for future planning. For those who are interested to start blogging, I wish you very good luck. I will produce another article regarding steps to create a personal website and blog. If you have any questions, just let me know. Thanks!

31 views0 comments
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook
  • Instagram Social Icon

WELCOME TO MY WEBSITE

bottom of page