top of page
  • Writer's picturemuhdfitribahrin

MY WEIGHT LOSS JOURNEY: FROM 120 KG TO 81 KG

Updated: Apr 5, 2019


Firstly, I will share my body weight for every year since after finish my study in foundation level and what makes me turn my lifestyle into 180 degrees, from very inactive person to a guy who can run 15 km for almost weeks. Then I will share my several tips for losing weight. I also share what makes me determined to get the ideal body weight. Hopefully, this article will help you guys to find your ideal body weight.



During at foundation level, my body weight was at 89-85 kg. I'm an inactive person back then. But, every week I will go for a jog. At that particular of time, I'm so busy with my study, because we as a foundation students need to catch up the syllabuses within a year. In 1 year we have 2 semesters, and each semester we are taking about 25 credit hours. So even the weekend (especially when we are near to the exam week), we still have classes to attend! After finish my foundation study, I started working with KFC. I worked with KFC for almost 5 months. For your information, KFC will discard the foods for every 3 hours (if I'm not mistaken) if there's no customer buy it. So to avoid wastage, I'm the one who volunteers to eat all those foods. My body weight at that time reaches about 119 or 120 kg, the heaviest weight I've ever had.



The turning point of my life when I difficult to find my Hari Raya clothes. Imaging that I need to go about 3 superstores to find a suitable size for me. Then I found difficult to move my body. I can't even do a perfect 'duduk tahiyat akhir' during pray time. I can easily felt exhausted. I can run only about 100 m, felt tires even hiking at Bukit Brogra which is considered as one of the easiest places to hike.


Alright, that's all for the introduction. Now is the main part of this article. For the tips, I divided it into 2 parts, first is about diet, and the second one is about physical activities. (Please take note that, the fact I write here is based on my experiences and from what I have learned. If you have any scientific evidence to reject my point, feel free to share it in the comment section). Between the factors of diet and physical activities, please be more disciplined with the diet. I give you an example, if you consume a glass of teh tarik which contains about 140 calories. To burn it, you need to walk about 30 minutes or, you can jogging for 15 minutes. So what I'm trying to say is you cannot out-burn the calories that you take excessively through physical activities unless you control how much the calories you will consume. So all you need to do is to know how much the calories contained in every single of foods. To do that, I suggest to you guys to download MyFitnessPal at Google Play Store. You can search for any kind of foods (including Malaysian Foods too!) and they will tell you every single of information about the foods such as the number of calories, proteins, fats and etc.


Next, after you know the amount of the calories of the foods., all you need to do is to eat the 'right' foods. Your total calories intake should be lower than the amount of the calories you burn. So you should eat low calories of foods. What I mean with the 'right' foods is like, instead of having an instant noodle for your dinner, you change it to an apple. Both of it will make you feel full, but they contain a different amount of calories. An apple contains about 80 calories but an instant noodle contains about 341 calories! That's a huge difference, right? You can even eat 2 apples and feel much fuller and still take a lower calorie (180 cal) compared to when you eat an instant noodle. So start your losing weight program by changing your diet!



Next, is be more active every day. More active doesn't mean you need to go jogging for 10 - 15 Km every day. But you need to move like instead using the elevator to go upstairs, why not you use the stairs? The second example, instead of using the motorcycle to go to nearby places (mosque, school, park), why not just walk? Try to target at least 10 000 steps per day. If you don't have time, I highly recommend to you guys to try skipping/jumping rope. It's a great cardio exercise, you can burn about 600 calories in 30 minutes while jogging only can burn about 336 calories in the same period of time. You can also mix your exercise plan with some workout or resistance training to make your muscle stronger. If you don't have the money or don't have time to go to the gym. You can try to do some calisthenic exercise such as push up, pull up, sit up, leg raise and etc. 



Lastly, what are the factors that make me consistent in keeping a healthy lifestyle? There are a lot of factors, one of it is I can't accept how the machine that tests my internal condition/health, describe my body like a 40 years old man (meaning that, my health condition is like a 40 years old man, like my metabolism rate is like an old man!). Alhamdulillah after change my lifestyle, my biological age down to 23 years old, a 1 year older than my actual age, but it's still ok compared to the first result. Secondly, I make Cristiano Ronaldo, a superstar football player as my idol. I love how he managed to maintain his top performance in the pitch for more than 10 years. He is a machine, his desire, winning mentality, and discipline makes me admire him so much.



Alright, that all for now. I will write another article for any points that I haven't mention here. Any suggestions, opinions, or critics, feel to write it down in the comment section. I wish you guys good luck especially those who aim to lose some weights. Enjoy your journey and most important things is please be consistent and never ever give up!

129 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook
  • Instagram Social Icon

WELCOME TO MY WEBSITE

bottom of page